h1

My Thoughts on Pre-Conference Workshop A

July 15, 2008

Thanks to everyone who attended this morning’s workshop “Social Media 101:
How To Leverage The Use Of Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, And Virtual Worlds To Change The Way Your Organization Collaborates, Communicates And Manages Intellectual Capital To Achieve Your Goals.”
Grant, Matt, and I really enjoyed the opportunity to interact with all of you and (hopefully) answer some of your questions about social media.  I think some of the biggest themes that emerged this morning are:

  • How can I use social media to supplement/improve internal communications?
  • How can I use social media to supplement/improve external communications?
  • How do I pitch social media to my Legal department?
  • How can I get leadership buy-in?
  • What are some of the ways that other government agencies are using social media?

In this morning’s session, I think that we got some answers to these questions, but there’s SO much more that we could have discussed.  I realize that to some, the workshop may have seemed a little all over the place.  On the other hand, I know that some of you (if you’re like me), enjoyed the lively dialogue and fast-paced nature of the workshop. Personally, I wish that we would have been able to get more into the hands-on portion of the presentation so that we could have actually created a blog, a del.icio.us account, etc.

Although, this is exactly why I’ve set up this blog – I want to continue the discussion that we started this morning here in this virtual environment.

Do you have any questions that didn’t get answered?  Is there any material that you wish we had covered, but didn’t?  Do you want to know how to start using RSS feeds, or how to increase user adoption of a wiki?  If so, leave me a comment here, and I’ll make sure that we address it at some point in the next two days, either in one of the upcoming sessions or here on the blog itself.

See everyone in the morning!

Leave a Reply

