h1

So what is this blog all about anyway?

May 16, 2008

First – check out the authors page to learn more about myself and Matt Bado, who will be the two primary authors of this blog before, during, and after the Social Media for Government Conference from July 14-17. Beyond what you’ll learn on that page, I also wanted to give you a better idea of who I am, my personality, and why I’ve started this conference blog.

When I was contacted by the Advanced Learning Institute to present a workshop and chair the upcoming Conference in July, I was flattered to be offered such an opportunity. This conference in particular has attracted such a great panel of speakers and I was definitely looking forward to engaging with everyone as the chairperson. As I started to think about my workshop presentation, I also began to think about how I could better collaborate with the participants of the conference before, during, and after the actual event. I figured, “what better way to teach people how to use blogs and other social media, than to use an actual blog?”

So that’s what this is – the conference blog for all participants and wannabe participants of the Social Media in Government Conference. I’ll be using this blog to engage with all of you, allow you the opportunity to get to know me, spur some discussion around some of the things we’ll be covering in July, and give us a general forum to talk about social media and ask questions of each other.

Look for future posts on everything from blogging within the enterprise (you’ll notice that I don’t maintain a public blog – we’ve got internal blogs at my company and I don’t have the time/energy to maintain too many other ones), to how to effectively deploy wikis within your organization, to the latest in sports news (I’m a HUGE Pittsburgh Steelers/Penguins fan).

To learn more about me, check out the following:

Looking forward to continuing the conversation with everyone – drop a comment and let me know if you have any questions or topics you’d like me to address.

2 comments

  1. Hey Steve – Great blog and it looks like it’ll be a great conference. You might want to add this most recent FCW article… http://www.fcw.com/online/news/152705-1.html.

    Thanks,
    Chris


  2. The medium is changing by the minute. BTW, very nice conf.

    http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08/07/17/apple_filing_takes_podcasts_to_the_next_level.html



Leave a Reply

